Our Research and Funding Committee

Oracle's Research and Funding Committee comprises of experts in the field of head and neck cancer, pharmaceuticals and patient representatives who help shape and deliver our research strategy to maximise the charity's impact in Head and Neck Cancer.

Teresa Guerrero Urbano - Chair, Committee Member

Teresa Guerrero Urbano is a consultant clinical oncologist.

She completed oncology training at the Royal Marsden and Royal Surrey County hospitals, and Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust.

Her formal research has evaluated technical and biological aspects of intensity modulated radiotherapy at the Institute of Cancer Research and Royal Marsden Hospital.

She is particularly interested in the use of novel radiation techniques to minimize long term side effects and the use of chemotherapy and targeted therapy to improve patient outcomes.


Ketan Shah - Committee Member

Ketan Shah is a Consultant Oncologist treating Head & Neck Cancers and Breast Cancer. His clinical research interests include Biomarkers and Imaging, Immunotherapy, Advanced Radiotherapy and Novel Therapeutics. He also maintain interests in Clinical Ethics, Quality Improvement and Medical Education.

Stuart Winter - Committee Member

Stuart Winter is a Consultant Ear Nose and Throat Surgeon.

He has over 25 years experience as a doctor and has been a consultant Ear Nose and Throat Surgeon since 2009. He is lead consultant at the Oxford Head and Neck Unit at the Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust.

He specialises in lumps in the neck, cancer of the head and neck, salivary gland problems, swallowing problems, voice and sinus problems.

Stuart graduated from University of Bristol and was trained in the south west and Oxford areas.

Before becoming a consultant he spent a year at the Royal Adelaide Hospital working with world experts, including Professor Krishnan, an expert in Head and Neck Cancer and PJ Wormald, a internationally respected sinus surgeon.

He was a consultant in Swansea before being appointed as a consultant at the Oxford University Hospitals and Honorary Senior Lecturer at the University of Oxford.

Stuart Winter_highres
Niran Nistala

Prof Anson Mackay, Committee Member

Anson serves as Patient Representative on the Research Committee. Anson was diagnosed with HPV-related squamous cell carcinoma of the right tonsil back in 2020. He underwent 7 weeks of chemo-radiation therapy, but then in 2021 the cancer was found to have spread to his lungs and he is now receiving immunotherapy treatment.

Anson is geographer / environmental scientist, and although recently retired he now holds the position of Emeritus Professor at University College London.

2013_Feb27-Mar20 Baikal Neutrino-LENA photo - 081

Dr Kate Newbold, Committee Member

Dr Newbold is a Consultant Clinical Oncologist specialising in cancers arising in the head and neck and thyroid. Her expertise lies in management including advanced external beam radiotherapy techniques, chemotherapy, radioiodine therapy and biological targeted agents.
Clinical research interests include advanced imaging techniques for personalising and guiding radiotherapy in head and neck cancers and novel targeted agents in thyroid cancers. Dr Newbold also has particular interest in medullary thyroid cancer and thyroid cancer arising in children and young adults.